Railway Day 2026: Sendai Events, Dates & Depot Tickets

Railway Day is October 14, but JR East's five Sendai-area events are scheduled across October 10-November 8, 2026. The Shinkansen depot festival is on October 24 and requires advance admission tickets. Check the date, venue and ticket conditions for each event before arranging travel.
Information checked on October 11, 2026: This guide uses JR East's corrected September 11 press notice and the four event pages available on JRE Media when checked. The Sendai event's announced October 10 date has passed; this is a record of its published schedule, not confirmation that it took place. The Kurikoma Kogen event page was not yet available when checked. The cover is an illustrative train-depot image, not a photograph of these events or a guarantee of the displayed train type.
Five events, dates and venues
| Event | Venue | Published date and hours | Tickets and main activity |
|---|---|---|---|
| Railway Day Customer Appreciation Day in SENDAI 2026 | Sendai Station | October 10, 9:30-16:00; announced date now past | The event page states free admission. Mini Shinkansen rides require numbered tickets. |
| Furukawa Railway Festival 2026 | Furukawa Station | October 11, 10:00-14:00 | Kokeshi hand-print painting: ¥1,500 per person in the press notice; see the event page for JRE MALL ticket details and other activities. |
| 38th Shinkansen Rolling Stock Base Festival | Shinkansen General Rolling Stock Base, beside Shin-Rifu Station | October 24, 10:00-14:30; last entry 13:45 | Advance admission ticket purchase required, with preschool children admitted free. Paid activities require separate advance tickets. |
| Railway Day Makieki Week | Ishinomaki Station, inside the Midori-no-Madoguchi ticket office | October 24-November 8; daily exhibition hours not stated in the pages checked | Local children's artwork, a food donation box and limited visitor gifts. |
| JR Kurikoma Kogen Station Appreciation Day | Special venue at AEON Supercenter Kurihara Shiwahime Store | October 31, 10:00-15:00, as announced in the press notice | Mini Shinkansen rides; the venue is away from the station. The notice planned an event-page update for October 16. |
Sendai Station: published October 10 programme
The Sendai event page, updated October 9, gives hours of 9:30-16:00. This updates the September press notice's 16:30 finish. Venues include the second-floor stained-glass area, east-west passage and west pedestrian deck.
The mini Shinkansen ride was advertised as free, with numbered tickets distributed from 9:30 for the 10:00-12:00 session and 12:30 for the 13:00-15:00 session. The page says the ride is canceled in rain. The original press notice listed 400 riders across both sessions; that figure does not establish ticket availability. Other advertised features included a Senseki Line 205 series display, stage performances and rail merchandise.
Furukawa Station: October 11
The Furukawa event page confirms 10:00-14:00 around the second-floor concourse and other station areas. The September press notice lists the kokeshi hand-print painting experience at ¥1,500 per person, in four sessions of about 60 minutes. The event page links to JRE MALL for the experience ticket; a listed link does not guarantee remaining places.
For the rail-scooter experience, the event page requires a numbered ticket distributed that day, at least ¥1,000 including tax spent at the specified station shops, and presentation of the ticket and receipts at reception. One numbered ticket admits one participant, whether adult or child; reception closes when tickets run out. The page also lists a mini Shinkansen ride, a stamp rally with reception until 13:30, and quizzes. Consult the organizer's page for each activity's conditions.
Shinkansen depot festival: October 24
The 38th Shinkansen Rolling Stock Base Festival page confirms 10:00-14:30, with last entry at 13:45. Shin-Rifu Station on the Tohoku Main Line is directly connected to the event entrance. JR East asks visitors to use rail transport: there is no event parking for cars or bicycles, and visitors should not park at nearby facilities.
- Buy admission in advance. The page says there is no admission payment at the venue by cash, credit card or Suica. Preschool children have free admission.
- Paid activities need their own advance tickets. Free admission eligibility does not make a paid activity free. The event page provides JRE MALL ticket links; check prices, conditions and availability there.
- E8 Shinkansen tug-of-war: the press notice lists ¥1,500 per person. The official event page confirms eligibility from age three through elementary-school age, with a guardian accompanying preschool children.
- The eight-year return refers to the tug-of-war activity. It does not mean the whole depot festival has been absent for eight years.
- Access and weather: the site is normally a working facility, with steps, rails and uneven areas. The event page permits wheelchairs and strollers but asks visitors to take care. Rain can change activity locations or content; severe weather can cause cancellation.
Other advertised activities include train displays, maintenance demonstrations, mini Shinkansen rides and separate paid experiences. Event admission and experience tickets are different from the rail tickets needed to reach Shin-Rifu.
Ishinomaki: October 24-November 8
The Ishinomaki event page places the exhibition inside the station's Midori-no-Madoguchi ticket office. It describes children's artwork from local schools, a food donation box and a limited supply of small gifts for station visitors. Daily exhibition hours are not specified in the pages checked.
The food box does not accept opened items, alcohol, homemade foods, products labeled in a foreign language or items with one month or less remaining before their best-before date. Check the official page before bringing a donation.
Kurikoma Kogen appreciation day: October 31
The corrected September press notice announces 10:00-15:00 at the special venue at AEON Supercenter Kurihara Shiwahime Store, rather than at Kurikoma Kogen Station itself. It advertises mini Shinkansen rides and a first joint date with the Kurihara Citizens' Festival, including food trucks and stalls.
The notice planned the JRE Media event page for October 16. That page was not yet available when checked on October 11. The notice does not give the ride's cost, capacity, reservation rules or directions between the station and venue. Consult the press notice, JRE Media and local station posters before traveling.
Plan tickets and travel separately
- Choose the event by its actual date and venue. October 14 is the commemorative date; these five events are scheduled on other dates.
- Read the official event page before booking. Activity conditions and availability vary. The depot's admission and paid experiences require advance purchase.
- Arrange the rail journey separately. See our Sendai Station guide for the travel hub. The depot event entrance connects directly to Shin-Rifu Station; use the official festival page for access and any special train information.
- Check gate requirements. The press notice says that activities on platforms or inside ticket gates require valid rail tickets or platform tickets. An event ticket does not replace a rail ticket, and a rail pass does not replace an event ticket.
- Recheck the organizer's information. Events can change or be canceled without notice, and crowding can lead to participation limits. Published schedules do not establish live availability.
Official sources and corrections
This is Japan Train's English summary of JR East information, rather than an article authored by JR East. The primary source is the corrected September 11, 2026 JR East press notice and the four linked JRE Media event pages, read on October 11. The correction changes the depot event page's planned publication date from October 1 to September 25; it does not change the October 24 event date. The newer Sendai page gives a 16:00 finish, superseding the press notice's 16:30.
Amounts explicitly attributed to the press notice are announcement references, rather than live offers or a guarantee of remaining tickets. Organizer changes and ticket availability should be checked with JR East. No year-round depot access is implied.
FAQ: Railway Day 2026 Sendai events
What is "Railway Day" (鉄道の日)?
Railway Day in Japan is October 14. JR East's 2026 Sendai-area programme covers five events scheduled from October 10 to November 8. October 14 is the commemorative date, rather than the date of all five events.
Are these events free to attend?
Conditions differ by event. The Sendai page states free event admission and free mini Shinkansen rides with numbered tickets. The press notice lists the Furukawa kokeshi activity and the depot E8 tug-of-war at ¥1,500 per person each. Depot admission requires advance tickets, with preschool children admitted free; paid activities still require separate advance tickets. Check the organizer's ticket pages for current conditions and availability.
Can foreign tourists participate in these events?
The official notices checked do not list a nationality or residency restriction. Each activity's age, ticket and participation conditions still apply. Check the organizer's ticket purchase requirements; the sources do not promise multilingual support.
Do I need to reserve in advance for the mini Shinkansen ride at Sendai Station?
The published October 10 event date has passed. Its event page described free rides with numbered tickets distributed from 9:30 for the 10:00-12:00 session and from 12:30 for the 13:00-15:00 session. It stated that the ride would be canceled in rain. These are published arrangements, rather than a confirmation of attendance or remaining places.
What if an event is canceled or changed on the day I visit?
Check JRE Media and local station posters before traveling. The press notice says events may change or be canceled without prior notice and crowding can limit participation. The depot page also states that rain can change activity locations or content and severe weather can cause cancellation.
Where are the Railway Day 2026 events held in the Sendai area?
The venues are Sendai Station, Furukawa Station, Ishinomaki Station's Midori-no-Madoguchi ticket office, the Shinkansen General Rolling Stock Base beside Shin-Rifu Station, and a special venue at AEON Supercenter Kurihara Shiwahime Store. The Kurikoma Kogen appreciation event is at that store, rather than at Kurikoma Kogen Station.
Is the Shinkansen depot open day family-friendly?
The official event page lists mini Shinkansen rides, train displays and family activities. The E8 tug-of-war is for children from age three through elementary-school age, with a guardian accompanying preschool children. Admission and paid-activity ticket rules are separate, and the working depot has steps, rails and uneven areas. Consult the official page for access and participation conditions.
Do I need to book tickets in advance for these events?
The depot festival requires admission tickets purchased in advance; the page states there is no admission payment at the venue by cash, credit card or Suica. Paid experiences need their own advance tickets, even for visitors eligible for free admission. The Furukawa page links to JRE MALL for the kokeshi experience. Other activities can use same-day numbered tickets or different conditions; check each official event page.